Going Blue

I went into a building that wasn’t my house yesterday. A grocery store. For the first time since starting quarantine on March 8th I went to a grocery store by myself. It was frightening. It also wasn’t my former place of employment. I am not ready for that. (Yes, I was fired. I had to be to collect unemployment. Fear of COVID is not a valid reason to be out for more than 2 weeks in NY. My former employer generously gave all of us COVID absentees much longer but the end is the same. No work, no job. I don’t blame them at all.)

Why go to a store anyhow? Because it’s Mick’s birthday soon and I needed ingredients for his gift. A gift my son thinks is dorky as hell, btw. Not sure why, nor do I care. Being dorky and odd and exasperating is what I am supposed to be – it’s in the Mom handbook. Page 107, I believe.

We have enough stuff. Too much stuff. So my husband and I exchange other things as gifts. Experiences. Meals out. Occasionally little luxuries which are technically ‘stuff’ but are enjoyed in the using. (My guy keeps me in pricey moisturizers and lovely dark chocolates.) Since concert tickets, museum trips, and restaurants are out thanks to the quarantine I am making all kinds of yummy goodies as Mick’s birthday gift this year. Bacon jam. Balsamic-glazed cippolini. Marinated mushrooms. And dill pickles. Two kinds – garlic and spicy. Everything except the glazed onions take at least a week’s lead time, hence the trip to the scary, scary grocery store. (He does all the shopping now and I could hardly ask Mick to buy the ingredients for his own birthday gift, durr.)

As a total newbie in this strange new world of masks and traffic patterns I assumed people were cutting me startled looks because I was accidentally violating some new unwritten rules of pandemic grocery shopping. Perhaps. But mostly I think it was this:

20200608_133559

My hair matches my dress and I never even thought about it until I was home again.

Yes, probably the only truly happy thing about being fired is being able to wear my hair any damn color I please again. Honestly I am still iffy about this shade of blue. But I’ve done just about every shade of pink and purple already going all the way back to 1982 and my lavender tufty. Blue is fun. I’m using Overtone. Aside from smelling like a buffalo’s armpit the product worked as advertised. Nice. The color doesn’t bleed unless my hair is wet. My pillowcase isn’t blue, but the towel I use exclusively on my noggin is. I’ve washed my hair once since I applied the Overtone and as expected the blue faded a little but was by no means ‘wash and gone’.

Please be aware of a few things: At least 30% of my hair was stripped almost white already. I deliberately chose an Overtone shade made for brown hair so I knew going in the bleached hair would grab pigment like crazy, as would the scant (dammit!) grey hairs. I was curious if I’d see any blue on the brown part and sadly the answer is No. If you’re looking for color and don’t want to pre-bleach your hair I would suggest a ‘party’ product such as spray-on colors or hair chalk. You get a blast of color with zero commitment.

I know some of you are considering anime hair colors. Good for you! However……bold hair requires a bold public persona. If you are uncomfortable with people looking at you, if you fret about being mocked and/or judged, if you are self-conscious to the point where you mentally gnaw at things afterward and never get to sleep until 3:00 am, um,

DO NOT COLOR YOUR HAIR SOMETHING ‘UNNATURAL’.

That, my darlings, is a recipe for disaster and neurosis.

I’m plenty neurotic, but being stared at and whispered about isn’t a biggie for me. See above about being honestly oblivious to the hair/dress thing. Obliviousness is woven into my DNA and it’s saved me a lot of grief. Truly the last time I can remember being out of my element and feeling like a doughy nothing was a friend’s bachelorette outing in NYC. I was delighted to lay a big old squeezy hug on my friend and was so pleased to be included in her plans! But talk about being an oddball! Every single thing about me was off and somehow wrong. To be thrown into a group of astonishingly accomplished women who were at least a decade younger and had been friends since college I felt like an elderly hippopotamus who’d wandered into a combined Mensa/Nobel prize committee meeting during the Olympics. World-class athletes! Doctoral candidates! Multi-lingual, published, traveled women who’d been going and doing all while I’d been here in my dumb pokey town dealing with a kid who bit, shit, spit, and drove me to tears at least twice a day. Accomplished? I was lucky if I’d showered and had a cuppa before being summoned to deal with that day’s Wolf mess. I had nothing on my CV and spent several weeks after the party shivering with self-disgust and weeping from humiliation and embarrassment. (NOT my friend’s doing AT ALL. I bring it up only so y’all understand that I get feeling awkward and am warning you to be prepared spiritually if you’re going to go public wearing cartoon hair.)

Okay, you’re girded up. Your life status allows you to color your hair something from the Rainbow Brite collection.

https://static.tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pub/images/rainbowbrite.gif

Unless your hair is already blonde, white, or grey you will need to do some prep work. The more natural pigment you can remove from your coif the brighter and more lasting the new color will be. This means bleach. Scary, smelly, stings like a motherfucker bleach. My pigment is concrete and has made seasoned hair dressers blanch. The shit won’t budge so I use the hair stripping version of a nuke – 40% peroxide, left on for a nutty amount of time, aided by applying heat. Twice. Don’t do this! You WILL be bald. I literally have over 50 years experience in nuking my hair and have fried it many times. Like ‘break off at the scalp’ fried. So go easy. Start with 20% peroxide. You can always wait a while between bleachings and try again. Remember to condition!

Now you’ve lightened your hair several shades and damaged the cuticle enough so your strands are open and porous. You’re ready for some brilliant color!

Almost.

Most semi-permanent or permanent color kits fail to make this next step important enough – you MUST put a barrier along your hairline and on your ears! Vaseline. Rub a thin layer along the skin at the edge of your hairline. All the way around. Then do the same for your ears, especially the tops. This is the most common mistake of home colorists. Their hair looks good but their ears are dyed and they have streaks running down their necks and foreheads.

Wear gloves!

Both with the bleaching and the coloring your hands will bear the brunt if you don’t wear gloves.

“LA, you’re scaring me!”

Good. I mean to. Not because there’s anything truly dangerous about dyeing your hair a wonderful shade of apricot or kelly green, but because lack of preparation and understanding leads to disastrous results and much unhappiness. I love cartoon hair colors and it irks me to see them done badly.

Like new cars a bold color job starts to lose value the second the deal’s done. Before coloring you should think whether you can handle new growth, your mop fading into odd shades, nosy questions from strangers, and 2:00 am trips to the can where you flip on the light, catch yourself in the mirror and go, “Holy Mother of God my hair is turquoise! With grey roots! GAH!”

If you can handle all that…YAY! You’re ready.

Have fun. Send me a pic.

 

Much love, ~LA

6 thoughts on “Going Blue

  1. I adore the blue hair!! Part of me is sorry you aren’t employed, and part of me is slightly jealous. I hope you find an alternative that’s kinder to your health (including your mental health.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I appreciate the vote of confidence. I got used to being blonde again so the blue looks too dark to me. And yeah, financially I’m fucked and I don’t care. Playing by the rules netted me nothing but barely scraping by and a lifetime of doing without. And got me a body that’s rickety and a misery to live in. Meh. If 2020 has taught me anything it’s that the future changes on the instant and all plans can vanish in a puff of Fate’s whimsy. Even, hell, ESPECIALLY if you’ve been killing yourself to always do the right thing. Kids are grown. Mick has a pension from the state. When my unemployment runs out I’ll reevaluate. Every doctor I see has told me to stay home, who am I to argue? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • If our medical and disability cartel weren’t so corrupt and didn’t dismiss women, you and I would be on disability. But that’s not likely in the foreseeable future, sad to say.

        Like

  2. As you know I went black which is already fading to a dark brownish. It was jarring. My husband is amazing with my hair, having dyed and highlighted for years now. Black was a treat for him but I don’t think I will repeat. I am not bold (anymore) and I can not carry off any wild colors but I do enjoy seeing your fun forays. I love the hair dress combo, I can’t remember the name of the lady it reminds me of, sigh story of my life.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think the blue looks fantastic on you and the matching dress makes it even lovelier. The time off has done you a lot of good, you looker healthier and happier now and much more vibrant. I am glad that you’re out of work and are free to be yourself and get rest when you need it. The selfish part of me is happy that you’ll be around more, too.

    It hurts my heart to know that you’ve felt bad because of comparison. I have that feeling ALLLLL that damn time. It’s gotten to the point where I am afraid to talk to my own friends because I’m not who I used to be. I never fulfilled my own potential, and it’s finally occurring to me that I might not ever. I’m not posting to talk about me, though.

    It’s totally normal and expected to feel shitty when you feel like you’re on the outside of the tribe, but it turns into long-lasting pain when it pokes at your old wounds. I wish I could hug away the trauma, tell you it’s going to be alright, and *poof* you never feel bad again. I don’t have that power. It just hurts me to know you’ve been hurt, you know?

    I’ve always thought of you as someone who is supremely confident and embraces her weirdness. You show that it’s acceptable to let your freak flag fly, enjoy life, and ignore the judgment of others. To me, it’s a huge accomplishment that you live in a small town and wear your blue hair, put your refinement and intelligence on full display, and own the fact that you’re both a witch and an atheist. It’s easy to forget that you didn’t just wake up one day feeling that way. You had to work for it and cultivate it. You made the choice to not be bitter and angry and enjoy your life instead.

    It’s very clear to everyone that you have the smarts and the skills to have done anything you wanted with your life. You know that you aren’t less-than (I know you know this because you aren’t blind). You know you are the same as any accomplished woman out there, which might be the real problem. You feel like you had the opportunity, but you missed the boat. We’ve all missed something by choosing the life paths we’ve chosen. One of my quadrilingual, PhD having friends has spent a king’s ransom trying to conceive in her 40s and now tells me that she’s jealous of women who married young and had kids immediately.

    You still have those smarts and skills. You’re still the woman who got accepted to Harvard and has a Mensa-level IQ. You’re still great at making people feel good and comfortable, and you’re witty and funny as hell. I don’t know if it matters to you or not, but you aren’t done. You keep saying that you are, but then you keep coming out and being awesome. You can’t help it, whether you like it or not, you always be an incredible person. So, you aren’t done. There are still boats sitting there in the dock waiting for you if you want to get on.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the colorful hair. It goes with your colorful personality and writing skills. I would never be able to carry that off. I’m too “timid” or scared or….just not sure enough of myself. But, you go, girl!.

    Like

Leave a comment